Yorkshire MPs vote on National Insurance rise

MPs National Insurance rise

Yorkshire MPs vote on National Insurance rise

The government’s proposal to increase the National Insurance was voted on by the majority of Yorkshire MPs on Wednesday 8 September.

The proposals faced backlash for hurting the working class who are already struggling to pay for their bills and rising food prices.

The MPs voted on a new health and social care tax which will result in the increase of everyone’s National Insurance.

The proposal aimed to help the NHS recover in the aftermath of the Covid-19 pandemic by funding social care for the country through the raised tax.

The motion is part of the government’s plan to raise £12b annually.

A large percentage of the money will go towards helping the NHS, but part of the funds will also go towards the social care system which helps those in need of high levels of care.

Those in work or self-employed would have to pay an extra 1.25% for National Insurance, starting from April 2022.

Those who earn under £9,564 will not be affected.

It will become its own, separate tax on earned income from 2023.

Younger generations as well as low-income households will be affected the most by this decision.

Currently, earning more at work means paying less National Insurance.

Workers have to pay 12% for National Insurance on earnings up to £50,268, but only 2% if they earn above that amount.

Maybe Yorkshire MPs voted both for and against the motion.

The Labour MP for Doncaster, Ed Miliband, voted against it.

The list of Yorkshire MPs (all Conservative) who voted for the rise include:

  • Nigel Adams (Selby and Ainsty)
  • Stuart Andrew (Pudsey)
  • Miriam Cates (Penistone and Stocksbridge)
  • Mark Eastwood (Dewsbury)
  • Nick Fletcher (Don Valley)
  • Robert Goodwill (Scarborough and Whitby)
  • Kevin Hollinrake (Thirsk and Malton)
  • Andrea Jenkyns (Morley and Outwood)
  • Andrew Jones (Harrogate and Knaresborough)
  • Jason McCartney (Colne Valley)
  • Robbie Moore (Keighley)
  • Alec Shelbrooke (Elmet and Rothwell)
  • Julian Smith (Skipton and Ripon)
  • Alexander Stafford (Rother Valley)
  • Rishi Sunak (Richmond)
  • Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley)

The list of Yorkshire MPs (mostly Labour) who voted against the rise include:

  • Ed Miliband (Doncaster North)
  • Hilary Benn (Leeds Central)
  • Clive Betts (Sheffield South East)
  • Olivia Blake (Sheffield Hallam)
  • Paul Blomfield (Sheffield Central)
  • Richard Burgon (Leeds East)
  • Sarah Champion (Rotherham)
  • Yvette Cooper (Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)
  • Judith Cummins (Bradford South)
  • Louise Haigh (Sheffield Heeley)
  • Fabian Hamilton (Leeds North East)
  • Imran Hussain (Bradford East)
  • Dan Jarvis (Barnsley Central)
  • Kim Leadbeater (Batley and Spen)
  • Holly Lynch (Halifax)
  • Rachael Maskell (York Central)
  • Stephanie Peacock (Barnsley East)
  • Rachel Reeves (Leeds West)
  • Naz Shah (Bradford West)
  • Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield)
  • Alex Sobel (Leeds North West)
  • Jon Trickett (Hemsworth)
  • Philip Davies (Shipley) – Conservative

Other MPs, including Doncaster’s Dame Rosie Winterton, were ineligible for the vote.

Contact Gi Doncaster
Email us: [email protected]
Follows us on Facebook for all the latest local stories, breaking news and to join the conversation

Lauren joined the Gi Media team in August 2021.