Over 300 Russian MPs hit by new UK sanctions

Over 300 Russian MPs hit by new UK sanctions

The government has imposed more sanctions on over 300 Russian MPs as part of its response to the current war in Ukraine.

386 MPs who voted to recognise two rebel-held areas of eastern Ukraine as independent last month have been hit by asset freezes and UK travel bans.

The UK said their recognition of Luhansk and Donetsk gave Russia a “pretext” for its subsequent invasion.

The US and the European Union had already announced similar sanctions.

The UK signalled it would impose sanctions of its own last month, but more time was needed to pass new legislation before it could happen.

The latest announcement means 400 out of the Duma’s 450 members are now subject to British sanctions.

The sanctions are directed at members of the Duma – the lower house of the Russian parliament – and will also prevent them from conducting business in the UK.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said the UK was targeting “those complicit in Putin’s illegal invasion of Ukraine and those who support this barbaric war”.

“We will not let up the pressure and will continue to tighten the screw on the Russian economy through sanctions,” she added.

This latest move follows sanctions on Russian banks, companies, and oligarchs in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Prime minister Boris Johnson said: “There can be no safe havens for those who have supported Putin’s vicious assault on Ukraine.

“Today’s sanctions are the latest step in the UK’s unwavering support for the Ukrainian people. We will be ruthless in pursuing those who enable the killing of civilians, destruction of hospitals, and illegal occupation of sovereign allies.”

On Thursday the UK announced sanctions on a further seven Russian oligarchs, including Chelsea FC owner Roman Abramovich.

The government says 18 Russian oligarchs, worth £30bn combined, have been sanctioned since the invasion began.

Contact Gi National
Email us:

Ellie joined Gi Media in July 2021.